All About Writing

The Stringybark Young Adult Fiction Award 2013

Do you have what it takes to write a story that will engage a member of the iPad generation?  Can you get a young adult to switch off their iPad (well at least stop playing games) and instead focus on your writing?  If so, why not enter the Stringybark Young Adult Fiction Award 2013.  Aimed at the YA market (ages 12-18) we would love to hear from you. As long as it is in 1500 words or fewer.  The story must have a link (no matter how tenuous) to Australia.  The competition is open to anyone over the age of 16 and living on planet earth.
There is a total of $770 worth of prizes in cash and books available — plus publication for place-getters and highly commended authors.  There is an entry fee of $9.95 (discounts for multiple entries).  Closing date 13 January 2013.   Details: Stringybark Young Adult Fiction Award 2013.
Results of the Stringybark Flash and Microfiction Awards 2012

On 11 November 2012, the judges announced the winning stories in the Stringybark Flash and Microfiction Awards.  John Poole (NSW) won the flash fiction competition with his wickedly clever story, Behind the Wattles.  Queenslander, Kerry Whalen won the microfiction competition with her introspective tale, The Question.  Other place getters were Jacqui Halpin (Queensland), Graham D’Elboux (NSW), Otto Fischer (NSW) and Martin Lindsay (WA) The winning and highly commended entries are now available in a new anthology Behind the Wattles.
A full list of the place-winner and highly commended authors  can be found on the website: Stringybark Flash and Microfiction Awards.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s